Create an account

Very important

• To access the important data of the forums, you must be active in each forum and especially in the leaks and database leaks section, send data and after sending the data and activity, data and important content will be opened and visible for you.
  • You will only see chat messages from people who are at or below your level.
  • More than 500,000 database leaks and millions of account leaks are waiting for you, so access and view with more activity.
  • Many important data are inactive and inaccessible for you, so open them with activity. (This will be done automatically)

Thread Rating:
  • 281 Vote(s) - 3.49 Average
Business Logic in Database versus Code?

As a software engineer, I have a strong bias towards writing business logic in the application layer, while typically relying on the database for little more than CRUD (Create Retrieve Update and Delete) operations. On the other hand, I have run across applications (typically older ones) where a large amount of the business logic was written in stored procedures, so there are people out there that prefer to write business logic in the database layer.

For the people that have and/or enjoy written/writing business logic in a stored procedure, what were/are your reasons for using this method?

Sometimes business logic is too slow to run on the app layer. This is especially true on on older systems where client power and bandwidth was more limited.

Two good reasons for putting the business logic in the database are:

- It secures your logic and data
against additional applications that
may access the database that don't
implement similar logic.
- Database designs usually outlive the
application layer and it reduces the
work necessary when you move to new
technologies on the client side.