Create an account

Very important

• To access the important data of the forums, you must be active in each forum and especially in the leaks and database leaks section, send data and after sending the data and activity, data and important content will be opened and visible for you.
  • You will only see chat messages from people who are at or below your level.
  • More than 500,000 database leaks and millions of account leaks are waiting for you, so access and view with more activity.
  • Many important data are inactive and inaccessible for you, so open them with activity. (This will be done automatically)

Thread Rating:
  • 307 Vote(s) - 3.51 Average
Optimized 2x2 matrix multiplication: Slow assembly versus fast SIMD

**Problem**

I am studying high performance matrix multiplication algorithms such as OpenBLAS or GotoBLAS and I am trying to reproduce some of the results. This question deals with the inner kernel of a matrix multiplication algorithm. Specifically, I am looking at computing `C += AB`, where `A` and `B` are 2x2 matrices of type `double` at the peak speed of my CPU. There are two ways to do this. One way is to use SIMD instructions. The second way is to code directly in assembly using the SIMD registers.

**What I have looked at so far**

All the relevant papers, course webpages, many many SO Q&As dealing with the subject (too many to list), I have compiled OpenBLAS on my computer, looked through OpenBLAS, GotoBLAS, and BLIS source codes, Agner's manuals.

**Hardware**